Bayham, Ontario Canada

Discover Bayham, Ontario: A Blend of History and Community

Bayham, Ontario, a municipality nestled in the southeast corner of Elgin County, Canada, is a place of rich history and vibrant communities. With a population of 6,989 as of 2011, Bayham is located south of the town of Tillsonburg and Oxford County.

The Historical Journey of Bayham, Ontario

The history of Bayham, Ontario dates back to 1810 when it was named after Viscount Bayham Charles Pratt, a friend of land grant recipient Colonel Talbot. The township was officially incorporated on January 1, 1850. The villages of Port Burwell and Vienna, initially part of Bayham, were incorporated as separate municipalities in 1949 and 1853 respectively.

In a significant historical turn, Bayham was re-amalgamated with Port Burwell, Vienna, and Eden in 1998, forming an expanded Municipality of Bayham. This re-amalgamation marked a new chapter in the history of Bayham, Ontario, bringing together diverse communities under one municipal banner.

Communities within Bayham, Ontario

Bayham, Ontario is home to a variety of communities, each with its unique charm and character. The municipality comprises the communities of Corinth, Eden, Froggetts Corners, North Hall, Port Burwell, Richmond, Springer's Hill, Straffordville, Vienna, and Wadger. These communities contribute to the rich cultural tapestry of Bayham, Ontario, making it a vibrant place to visit and live.

Demographics of Bayham, Ontario

According to the 2021 Census of Population conducted by Statistics Canada, Bayham, Ontario had a population of 7,096 living in 2,264 of its 2,435 total private dwellings. This represented a change of -4.1% from its 2016 population of 7,396. With a land area of 244.6 km2 (94.4 sq mi), Bayham had a population density of 29.0/km2 (75.1/sq mi) in 2021. These demographics provide a snapshot of the diverse and dynamic population that calls Bayham, Ontario home.