Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia Canada

Discover Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia: A Blend of History and Natural Beauty

Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia, is a suburban community nestled within the Halifax Regional Municipality (HRM). Located on the western shore of Halifax Harbour, it lies between Purcell's Cove and Herring Cove along Route 253. The community's postal code begins with B3V, a testament to its unique location.

The Rich History of Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia

Fergusons Cove was first settled in 1788 by William Glazebrook. Initially known as Falkland, it was named after Lady Falkland, the wife of Lucius Bentinck Falkland, a Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia. The Lynch family from Ireland settled in the area in 1803, followed by William Embley from Newfoundland, a Royal Navy veteran, in 1811.

The community was connected to Spryfield, a community further inland on the Chebucto Peninsula, by a road that began at the foot of a steep hill just north of York Redoubt. This road ended in the Roach's Pond area of Spryfield and is now a footpath, seldom used but still easily followed and worth the hike.

In the early 20th century, several slate quarries operated in the community, but none are active today. Many of the early settlers made their living as harbour pilots. By the latter part of the 20th century, Fergusons Cove had become a "bedroom community" for Halifax. Despite being sparsely settled, much development has taken place in the past 30 years, especially in the upper end of the housing market.

The 2009 Fire in Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia

A significant event in the community's history was the fire of 1 and 2 May 2009. The fire started near Roach's Pond in Spryfield and spread rapidly to Fergusons Cove, aided by high winds and dry debris from Hurricane Juan. The fire forced the evacuation of almost 1500 people, mostly from Fergusons Cove, and resulted in the complete destruction of 8 houses and significant damage to a dozen others. It burned about 600 acres in total and was the worst fire in the area since 1964.

Military Presence in Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia

The high bluffs from Fergusons Cove to Chebucto Head have been used as defensive positions for the city since at least 1793 due to their elevation and overview of the approaches to Halifax Harbour. The Navy operates the Damage Control Training Facility Kootenay just south of the fort, its grounds containing the former training battery for York Redoubt at Sandwich Point.

Fort York Redoubt: A Historic Landmark in Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia

A large coastal defense fort called York Redoubt was established in Fergusons Cove in 1793. It was active through both world wars and ceased operations in 1956. Today, the fort is a National Historic Site, adding to the rich history and cultural significance of Fergusons Cove, Nova Scotia.