Discover Grindrod, British Columbia: A Blend of History and Natural Beauty
Grindrod, an unincorporated community in south central British Columbia, Canada, is a hidden gem nestled on the western shore of the Shuswap River. This charming locale borders the Shuswap and Okanagan regions and is conveniently located on BC Highway 97A. It's about 46 kilometres southwest of Sicamous, 19 kilometres southeast of Salmon Arm, and 51 kilometres north of Vernon.
The Origin of Grindrod, British Columbia
In the mid-1880s, the area was known as Seven Mile. The Canadian Pacific Railway (CP) later named the new station after Edmund Holden Grindrod, the first CP telegraph inspector in British Columbia (1886–1910). Previously, the place was considered part of the general area of North Enderby.
Early Pioneers of Grindrod, British Columbia
In 1889, George Weir and John Lambert were among the first settlers in the area. Lambert, a local Justice of the Peace, introduced the first horse-drawn hay baler to the district. In 1893, William Monk, a successful farmer and provincial road foreman, homesteaded east of the present bridge. His brother John joined him in 1906 and operated the first post office from his residence.
The Railway Era in Grindrod, British Columbia
The southward advance of the Shuswap and Okanagan Railway (S&O) rail head from Sicamous passed through Enderby in May 1891. The Grindrod station opened in 1908 and was located at the northwest end of Carlin St. Despite several incidents and changes over the years, the railway played a significant role in the development of Grindrod.
Roads and Bridges in Grindrod, British Columbia
The first 8 kilometres of a Belvidere–Mara Lake wagon road was built in 1884, passing through the Grindrod area the following year. The first bridge, a small log structure, opened in 1910, replaced by a 30-metre Howe truss in 1923. The Grindrod–Sicamous road was paved in 1957, and the present bridge, a two-lane concrete and steel structure, opened in 1958.
The Early Community of Grindrod, British Columbia
In 1909, the Carlins surveyed their property for a subdivision, marking the beginning of the Grindrod community. Despite a fire in 1909 that hampered sales, the community grew steadily with the establishment of a general store, community hall, and St Paul's Anglican church. The Grindrod Motor Garage and J. Monk & Sons store were also significant establishments in the early community.
The Ukrainian Influence in Grindrod, British Columbia
In the early 1920s, large numbers of Ukrainians began arriving from Manitoba. They established a cemetery, church, and school, contributing significantly to the cultural diversity of Grindrod. The Church of Sts. Peter and Paul (Ukrainian) and the cemetery remain in use today.
Agriculture in Grindrod, British Columbia
Grindrod was the centre of the Carlin Orchard country. Today, the green pastures and alfalfa crops sustain the predominance of dairy farming. Farmer John de Dood offers tours of his automatic milking system, and the adjacent Farmer John's Market sells local dairy and organic products.
Forestry in Grindrod, British Columbia
Arthur Tomkinson established the Grindrod sawmill in 1913. Over the following decades, various lumber mills have existed, contributing to the local economy.
The Modern Community of Grindrod, British Columbia
Today, Grindrod is a vibrant community with a variety of commercial, institutional, and residential connections. The annual Grindrod Days and Grindrod Garlic Festival are popular events that attract visitors from near and far.
Grindrod, British Columbia as a Filming Location
Grindrod's picturesque landscape has caught the attention of filmmakers. Scenes from the movie "Tomorrowland" (2015) were shot in the area.
Maps of Grindrod, British Columbia
For a detailed view of Grindrod, refer to the "Rand McNally BC map" (1925) and the "Standard Oil BC map" (1937) available at www.davidrumsey.com.